Info close ×
+

Concordia and the City of Fribourg

The region of Fribourg is one of those rare and charming areas in which muses are happy to linger in. The density of choirs and musical companies in Fribourg and in particular the quality of their performances are some of the best indicators of the importance and role of music in our city as well as in our canton.

One of the major attractions of the Concordia musical corps is the melding of men and women from all walks of life and thus the way it manages to transcend all social barriers. The sole objective of the corps is to bring together enthusiastic musicians and their audiences, nothing else.

Concordia as the official musical corps of the city of Fribourg takes part in all festivals and celebrations of the city. s a musical ensemble it is a role model, boasts of excellent talent and honours its city without sacrificing the friendship and camaraderie between its members.

On the plaque commemorating the 100th anniversary of Concordia in 1982, Michael Charrière had the following to say: “A City, a Society”. In the face of this powerful connection between the city of Fribourg and the society, it is difficult for me speak of each individually. When I mention the one then I invariably end up talking about the other.

A repetition of the rich and colourful history of Concordia seems so unnecessary. Nevertheless, there are two historic episodes regarding the relationship between the corps and the city that bear mentioning:

The first is Concordia being awarded the title “official musical corps of the city of Fribourg” by the municipal council on the 23rd of November 1938. The authorities thus honoured the dedication of three Concordiants, Armand Spicher, Alfred Michel and the administrator Ernest Lorson, – all three Presidents of Concordia
at various times between 1928 and 1943 – for their artistic merits and achievements.

This award is an important milestone in the history of the musical corps and showed the paths traveled by the corps that originally hailed from the „Auge-Viertel“.

The second notable episode was the participation of Concordia in the first meeting between the Cities of Fribourg and Nova Friburgo in Brazil in 1977. The incredible emotional intensity during the concerts and parades that took place during this meeting could only be brought about by the joy felt by the cousin cities at discovering each other.

Yes, the city of Fribourg takes pride in its musical corps that so magnificently represents it not only in Switzerland but also abroad.

As an essential participant in local life, as a school for discipline and as a place of friendship, Concordia, as one of the best musical companies of this country, is able to look towards the future with confidence.

Dominique de Buman
President of the Swiss National Council
Member of the Swiss National Council
Honorary member of Concordia

Info close ×
+

Die Concordia und die Stadt Freiburg

Das Freiburgerland gehört zu diesen reizvollen [malerischen oder auch pittoresken] und seltenen Gegenden, wo Musen sich gerne aufhalten: die Dichte an Chor- oder Musikgesellschaften und besonders die Qualität derer Leistungen sind die besten Indikatoren für die Rolle und die Bedeutung der Musik in unserer Stadt und unserem Kanton.

Als wichtiger Anziehungspunkt für das fröhliche und gemütliche Beisammensein vereint das Corps Männer und Frauen aller Schichten und überwindet so sämtliche sozialen Schranken, einzig dem Ziel verpflichtet, begeisterte Musiker und ihr Publikum zusammenzubringen.

Die Concordia ist als offizielles Musikcorps der Stadt Freiburg bei allen Festen und Feierlichkeiten dabei. Sie ist Vorbild für ein musikalisches Ensemble, welches über eine ausgezeichnete Begabung verfügt und seiner Stadt höchste Ehre erbietet, ohne die Freundschaft und Kameradschaft seiner Mitglieder zu vernachlässigen.

Auf der Gedenktafel zur Hundertjahrfeier der Concordia im Jahre 1982 hatte Michel Charrière folgendes geschrieben: „Eine Stadt, eine Gesellschaft“. Es fällt mir schwer, angesichts dieser starken Verbindung zwischen der Stadt Freiburg und der Concordia, gesondert über sie zu sprechen. Indem ich die eine erwähne, spreche ich gleichzeitig über die andere.

Eine Wiederholung der reichhaltigen und farbigen Geschichte der Concordia scheint mir hier nicht angebracht: Dennoch möchte ich auf zwei symbolische Daten zurückzukommen, namentlich zwei geschichtsträchtige Episoden zur Beziehung zwischen der Concordia und der Stadt Freiburg erwähnen.

Die erste Episode betrifft die Verleihung des Titels „Offizielle[s] Musik[corps?] der Stadt Freiburg“ durch den Gemeinderat anlässlich der Sitzung vom 23. November 1938. Die Behörden der Stadt beabsichtigten damit, den drei engagierten Concordianten Armand Spicher, Alfred Michel und dem Verwalter Ernest Lorson – alle drei Präsidenten der Concordia zu verschiedenen Zeitpunkten zwischen 1928 und 1943 – „Ehre zu erweisen für ihren künstlerischen Wert und Verdienst“.

Diese öffentliche Auszeichnung stellte einen wichtigen Meilenstein in der Geschichte des Musikcorps dar und zeigte auf, welchen Weg die einst aus dem Herzen des „Auge-Viertels“ stammende Gesellschaft eingeschlagen hatte.

Als zweite erwähnenswerte Episode ist die Teilnahme der Concordia am ersten Treffen der Stadt Freiburg mit Nova Friburgo in Brasilien im November 1977 zu erwähnen: Konzerte und Paraden folgten aufeinander in einer unglaublichen Intensität an emotionalen Empfindungen, wie sie nur die Widerentdeckung eines Cousins aus Amerika mit sich bringen kann.

Ja, die Stadt ist stolz auf ihr Musikcorps, welches den Ruf der Stadt Freiburg nicht nur in der Schweiz sondern bis weit über die Landesgrenzen hinaus erstrahlen lässt.

Als unentbehrlich Beteiligte am lokalen Leben, als Schule für Disziplin und als Ort der Freundschaft kann die Concordia im Vertrauen auf ihre Leistung als eine der besten Freizeit-Musikgesellschaften des Landes unbesorgt in die Zukunft blicken.

Dominique de Buman
Präsident des Nationalrats
Nationalrat
Ehrenmitglied und Pate der Fahne der Concordia